17 Resolutions for 2017

Hello! You look stunning today!

I hope 2017 has been amazing for all of you so far. As it is only day number two of 365 in this new year, it is not too late to come up with a few New Year’s Resolutions. I hope this list can give you a few ideas of what to do. I know I’ll be using some of them!

  1. Read more. A good idea for this one is to try picking two or three books at the start of the month that you want to read. Try to get through them by the end of the month. Feel free to adjust the number of books you pick each month based on how much time you have. Don’t get down on yourself if you don’t get them all done. And, if you finish early, add on another one!
  2. Try new foods. An easy way to try new foods could be going to a restaurant with some friends. However, if this is too expensive or does not quite fit what you would want to do, you can also find a new recipe to try every week or every other week.
  3. Exercise. I believe that an important thing about making this resolution work is by not making the resolution require you to go to a gym a certain number of times per week. The important thing about this one is to make sure that you don’t overwork yourself and that you do things that you feel comfortable doing. If you aren’t sure where to begin or aren’t interested in intense working out on your own, you can also look for fitness centers nearby and see if they offer any classes you might be interested in.
  4. Learn something new. This can be scary for lots of people, including myself. It can also be very frustrating when you first try something new because there will always be other people who are better than you, but that doesn’t mean you cannot get to the same level as them. If you need structure or have many small things you’ve always wanted to learn, try picking one per month to work on specifically. If not, try to set aside some time each week to work on something new.
  5. Journal more. I have tried this and, while I was doing it, I saw an improvement in my mood. I used a journaling method that is said to improve your brains positivity levels. Each day I took a few minutes to write down as many good things as I could that had happened that day even if I can only think of one or two. I also wrote down three different things that I am grateful for. Although some people think it is necessary to remember the things that you need to work on, you are also more likely to succeed if you feel better about yourself. Looking at the positive can have a big effect on your outlook on life.
  6. Procrastinate less. This is probably one of the things I want to work the most on since procrastinating is super difficult. However, if I make a schedule or tell myself that I will work on one thing until 6 pm and then start working on another thing until 7:15 pm, I find that it is much easier to plan in time to work ahead.
  7. Volunteer. Volunteering is one of the easiest ways to make a difference in your community and it can also have a big impact on your life. Doing good gives your brain a natural sense of accomplishment which can impact your happiness in amazing ways. Volunteering can also make a huge difference in someone else’s life. Try to get involved as much as possible!!
  8. Develop and use a self-care routine. I have started to do this recently and, although I don’t have a set routine every day, it always feels really good when I am able to fit something in like a bubble bath or meditation of some sort. This can really decrease my stress levels and make me feel a lot better about myself.
  9. Get enough sleep REGULARLY. This is something that I desperately need to work on. Honestly, there’s not much to write here except that if you struggle with getting enough sleep you need to set an approximate bedtime for yourself. If you are a couple of minutes late or early that’s totally cool! However, you should not be up multiple hours after you said you were going to sleep.
  10. Watch less TV/Netflix. This is another thing I have been trying to do. Since we have nearly unlimited access to what we want to watch and can watch it whenever we like, it can be very tempting to just turn on the TV or pull up Netflix on one of our devices. However, this can make it super hard to get anything done. I recently started listening to music instead. Although it can still be a bit distracting, it allows me to turn away from my computer screen and get something done.
  11. Get organized (and stay that way). When it comes to organizing, I am in heaven. I love organizing everything. It can be really relaxing when you know that you have everything in a certain space and it can be visually pleasing (which can also improve your mood). However, staying organized can be a struggle. The easiest way to make sure that you can stay organized is by putting in that extra 10 seconds to put things away even when you don’t want to.
  12. Save money. This can actually be super easy if you use a 365-day saving challenge. In this challenge, you can save over $650 without saving more than four dollars on any one day. In order to achieve this, you simply need to save one cent on the first day, two cents on the second and three cents on the third. That’s all. By the end of the year, you should have $667.95!
  13. Spend less time on social media. Several months ago, I deleted my Instagram app and it has made things much easier for me. Instead of worrying about how many likes I got on a photo or how often I need to post and what picture is good enough, I can focus on more important things. Deleting only one form of social media has given me so much time that I can use in so many ways.
  14. Dress for YOU. I also started doing this recently and I can truthfully say that it has made all the difference in the world. While you should sometimes “dress to impress”, if you are uncomfortable, it will be harder to “impress”. You need to feel comfortable in what you are wearing. Believe me when I say it feels so much better to dress the way I feel comfortable dressing.
  15. Eat/Drink healthier. Not only can this make a long-time impact on your health and well-being, but eating and drinking healthier can help you in the short-term as well. Drinking lots of water can prevent dehydration, headaches, and can help clear your skin. Eating the right foods can actually help you lose weight (if that’s something you want to work on)
  16. Put your phone down! This is another thing that can be difficult in a world where so much happens on devices. But even just putting your phone away when you’re with friends or when you are at dinner with your family can give you enough time to interact with people and have conversations you may not have had otherwise.
  17. Stay a little more optimistic each day. This is easily the most important thing on this entire list. Being a little more positive and holding yourself up and not letting every little thing get to you can make a huge impact on you and those around you. Try to think of the same amount of good things as bad when you are worried about something. It might make you feel better.

I hope some of these can work for you this year. Just remember- don’t make resolutions impossible and don’t give up if you miss one day or week. Start again the next week. New Year’s is not the only time that you can change things for the better! Have any other ideas? Feel free to share them below!

Header Image Credit: elizabethmod
Leave a Reply

