Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Hello, gorgeous! I hope you had a good holiday season. As I am still a student, I am able to enjoy almost two full weeks off of school – a welcomed break from the daily stress. Recently, I was in Florida and was able to both start and finish the same book within the trip – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne.

29056083.jpgTitle: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author(s): J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Genre: Fantasy
Theme(s): Friendship, Family
Main Characters: Albus Potter, Scorpius Malfoy, Delphi Diggory, Harry Potter, Ginny Potter (Weasley), Draco Malfoy, Ron Weasley, Hermione Weasley (Granger)
Series: Harry Potter (Book 8 of 8)
Pages: 308 (Rehearsal Edition Script Printed Copy)
Published: 2016

Short Summary:
Nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts, the youngest son of Harry and Ginny Potter, Albus, begins his education at Hogwarts School where he meets Scorpius Malfoy, Draco Malfoy’s son. Meanwhile, Hermione, Ron, and Harry work for the Ministry of Magic, which has been slowly destroying time turners as it finds them. However, when Albus discovers that Hermione has saved one, he agrees to use it to take him and Scorpius back in time to help Amos Diggory save his son, Cedric, from Voldemort during Harry’s fourth year at Hogwarts (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire). Unfortunately, Albus and Scorpius have no idea what sort of changes can occur when you play with time.

My Opinion:
First of, since this is written as a script, I found it to be a quick and easy read – perfect for the airport and long plane rides. I also thought following Albus Potter was an interesting and much-appreciated way to continue the Harry Potter legacy. The complicated relationship between Harry and Albus really made me think more and more about how Harry’s past impacts his life even after Voldemort is long gone. And, the ending is fantastic (but I won’t spoil it – no need to worry). This story does a good job of creating a relationship between Harry and his son that adds a nice touch to the incredible Harry Potter world.
Unfortunately, although Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is sometimes called the eighth book in the Harry Potter series, I did not feel that the story itself held up to the same standard as the rest of the series. Granted, that is a difficult standard to reach. But, either way, I found the story a bit disappointing. Although the relationship between Harry and his son is well-written, I did not find the storyline to be something that I would have expected to happen or something that would have likely happened.
If you do decide to read this, I feel it is important to remember that this is a script, not a typical book. For me, although I did not enjoy this story when reading it, I do believe that I would enjoy the play more.

Overall Rating: 3.5/5 Stars
screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-6-50-44-pm

Book Image Credit (Post): Goodreads / Header Image Credit: elizabethmod / Rating Image Credit: elizabethmod
Leave a Reply

