Anxiety Series: An Introduction (pt 1)

Hello, all! I hope you’re having a wonderful day. Unfortunately, this is not going to be the happiest of posts, however, I do feel that it is important for me to share these things and, hopefully, help others. Over the past year or so I have been having some major issues with my anxiety. I know that I am not alone in my struggles, but it often felt this way- especially on my worst days. My hope is that I can use my own experience to help others through the same thing. I am planning on doing a few parts to this so that it is not too long. In the first part, I will be giving a bit of a background on what anxiety and what it has been like for me.

(Video Credit: YouTube)

Background
Anxiety disorder is categorized as a mental health disorder that causes worry, anxiety or fear and interferes with daily life. These characteristics do not always mean that someone has an anxiety disorder. All three are feelings that people can experience without having a catastrophic impact on their life. On this post, I have included a video that I felt really outlined the thoughts that went through my head on a daily basis even during my good days. This will hopefully help those who do experience anxiety feel a little more understood (and less alone) and help people who haven’t experienced anxiety understand a little more.

My Experience
I started really struggling with my anxiety about a year ago. I found that I was really irritable all the time, didn’t want to get out of bed, and freaked out at the smallest things. I pushed away a lot of my friends and struggled to get through the smallest everyday tasks. I went through numerous panic attacks that lasted anywhere from two to 10 minutes and kept me from doing numerous things that I had really wanted to do. It’s taken me almost a year to get to where I am now with my anxiety. I have gone through therapy, medications, and numerous doctors appointments in an attempt to lessen the anxiety. I am finally at the point where I can be open with my teachers and coaches about what has happened and I am hanging out with my friends again. However, despite the progress I have made, I still struggle sometimes and I still remember how lonely and hopeless I felt during my worst days. If you are in need of someone to talk to or any tips, please feel free to contact me. I don’t have all the answers, but sometimes having someone who understands can help a lot. It did for me.

Future Anxiety Series Posts
The most frightening part of my experience was all the questions I had. I turned to everyone I could think of to ask for help but I was utterly disappointed with the lack of answers I received. As I have mentioned numerous other times in this post, I hope that I can use my own experience and knowledge to help others and, perhaps, answer some of their many, many questions.
I’m planning to do a series of these posts. Currently, I am planning to have a post dedicated to the following topics: panic attacks, asking for help, and everyday life. If there is anything else that you have questions on or would like me to post about, please let me know. I am more than willing to help in any way that I can.

Zoella on Anxiety
For those of you who have not heard of Zoella (Zoë Sugg), she is a British YouTuber, blogger, and author who is most famous for her makeup tutorials and haul videos on YouTube. She also struggles with anxiety. When I was going through my hardest months, I came across this video and found that it was super helpful to me to hear about this from someone who I could already relate to about a lot of other things. Knowing that this affected other people made me feel much better. In case any of you are interested, here is a video from her main channel where she talks about anxiety and panic attacks.

(Video Credit: YouTube)

I really do hope that all of this information has helped you or is something that you can use to help someone that you know. I will be posting about the different things I mentioned previously very soon so stay on the lookout for those. Bye!

One thought on “Anxiety Series: An Introduction (pt 1)

Leave a Reply

