Anxiety Series: Asking for Help (pt 3)

Good morning everyone! I hope you’re having a good week. Today, I am going to continue the Anxiety Series. In Part Two, I wrote about panic attacks and my own tips and experiences with them. In this part, part three, I am going to be talking about asking for help/telling people. This can be a scary step for many reasons, but it can also help tremendously when it comes to anxiety (and pretty much anything in life). First, I will try and tell you all the people that I told and in what order. I will also try to explain why I chose to tell these people. Then, I will offer a list of tips and things that I wish I had known before.

What I Did/ Who I Told
I started by talking to the school counselor after I’d had a few panic attacks. However, the first person I went to outside of school was my best friend’s mom. She also struggled with anxiety and I respected her a lot. Due to this, I felt that I could trust her to give me some advice. I won’t lie, I was slightly disappointed with the information that she was able to give me. However, it was very helpful to have that first person know what was going on.
After that, I told a few more of my closest friends. This helped if I ever began to panic or feel very anxious when I was at school or hanging out with my friends.
I also told my parents after a couple months and, believe me, it felt like such a relief afterward. I remember being on the phone with my best friend in tears because I was so relieved at not having to worry or keep it hidden. I finally felt like I was going to get the help that I needed to feel better. This led my parents to set up a doctors appointment for me the following week.
Since that appointment, there have been ups and downs, but overall I believe that things are getting much better and the future looks brighter than it did before.

Tips/Things I Wish I’d Known
1. You aren’t alone. Chances are, you’re not the only one you know struggling through this sort of thing. Since I became comfortable with my own anxiety, I have been able to talk to people about it and I have been blown away by the number of people with similar issues.

2. It’s not your fault. Anxiety isn’t something that you caused. It occurs within your body and is completely out of your control. Some people may believe that it can be fixed just by telling yourself not to get scared, but that isn’t necessarily true.

3. You can (and should) tell someone. Telling people can help immensely. Not only can they help you get the attention you need, but they can also help if you have a panic attack or feel yourself getting nervous.

New Resources
In my first post, I added a video about what anxiety feels like and a video from Zoella with tips. Since that post, I have been contacted by another site, Drug Rehab. While I cannot comment on how this helped me as I have not struggled with this, I will include it in this post. If you are in need of help with anxiety and drugs or anxiety, I would suggest you start here: https://www.drugrehab.com/co-occurring-disorder/anxiety/

If anyone else has any requests for these posts or any ideas of what I should include please contact me using the contact page on this blog. Don’t forget to share this with others!!

One thought on “Anxiety Series: Asking for Help (pt 3)

Leave a Reply

