Saturday Scroll #1

Hey, everyone!! Since I’ve started to gain quite a few followers recently, I thought I would start something new. I’ve seen several of my favorite blogs start to do “Friday Four” or something similar where bloggers can list things that they did during that week or things that they’ve been enjoying. I think this is a super simple, fun way to share about the little things in life without having to make a full post on everything that happens in one’s life. So, naturally, I decided that I would try it for myself. Please let me know if you guys like it and would like me to continue this in the future!

1) Thirteen Reasons Why
The first thing on my list this week is the show Thirteen Reasons Why. Based off of Jay Asher’s novel, the TV series follows Clay Jensen as he listens to the thirteen tapes left by one of his schoolmates, Hannah Baker, who recently committed suicide. According to the recordings, the seven cassettes contain the thirteen reasons, aka people, that are responsible for Hannah’s death. Each person is instructed to listen to all the tapes and then pass them to the next person. Supposedly, someone is watching to ensure they complete this task instead of just dumping the tapes. However, no one is positive as to who this person is although Clay has a few hunches.
Despite the unfortunate and depressing nature of this show, I have become absolutely addicted. The story has so many twists and turns and has completely captivated me. Although I have not read the book (I promise you- I’m normally one of the “read the book before I watch the movie” kind of people), I think the Netflix has done an incredible job with this show. As I said, I haven’t read it so I cannot vouch for the accuracy of the show, however, I really enjoy watching Thirteen Reasons Why, which is why it has gained a spot on this week’s list.

2) Bullet Journaling
I started bullet journaling this month and although I have not had much to put into the journal yet, I have been setting up several different layouts and multiple monthly pages to learn what works best for me. I have also become absolutely obsessed with watching ‘Plan With Me’ videos on YouTube. Currently, my favorite YouTuber to watch is AmandaRachLee (AmandaRachLee Bullet Journal Videos). If you guys would like to see my journal and have me talk about some of the things I’ve tried, leave a comment below!!
I started bullet journaling because I wanted to be able to keep everything- sports, blogging, school, extracurriculars- in one spot. This made the bullet journal an excellent option for me. They are really flexible and can allow me to be creative but still productive. I love that each week can be different depending on how much I have to get done or what specific things I need to keep track of.

3) Spotify
Since I’ve been having a few rough weeks, I’ve leaned heavily on music to help me get through the day. I am someone who is pretty devoted to using Spotify for music and the only time that I use iTunes is when I am watching a movie. I have spent a lot of time listening to Ed Sheeran’s album “÷” and spent at least three hours last night listening to the soundtrack for the newest Beauty and the Beast movie (click here for the review of it that I wrote a few months ago). I also listened to my own ‘travel ✈️ ‘ playlist on Spotify. I made this playlist several months ago to help with some anxiety struggles.

4) The Martian
Despite the fact that this movie came out two years ago, I just watched it for the first time this week. After AP exams at school, any juniors who were in AP science classes are separated into groups for ‘Martian May Term’ where we are given numerous challenges to solve and work together on. To start the term, we watched The Martian in class for two days. However, after the first day, I had to buy it on iTunes because I was so desperate to watch the rest of it.
In The Martian, Mark Watney (Matt Damon) is an astronaut who was accidentally left behind by his crew on Mars because he was presumed dead. Unfortunately for everyone, Mark is still alive and now has to figure out how to survive until the Ares IV mission launches four years from now. The fortunate part of the situation is that, not only is Mark is an astronaut, but he is also a botanist. Using potatoes that were sent along with the crew for Thanksgiving, he manages to grow several hundred days worth of food. However, this does not mean that his time on Mars is without hardship. The movie was absolutely gripping and I could not stop watching. It is an absolute MUST-WATCH.

So sorry that this was such a long post, everyone! But, I hope you enjoyed hearing a little bit about what I’ve been obsessed with over the past few weeks. Be sure to let me know what you’ve been loving and if you want to see more of these posts in the future (they won’t normally be this long)!

Leave a Reply

